UAP is affiliated with the following International and Local Institutions:


International Institutions


National Section of the International Union of Architects (UIA)

The International Union of Architects (Union internationale des Architectes, or UIA) is an international non-governmental organization that represents over a million architects in 124 countries. The UIA was founded in Lausanne, Switzerland, in 1948. The General Secretariat is located in Paris. It is recognized by most United Nations agencies as the only association in its field, including UNESCO, UNCHS, ESOSOC, UNIDO, and the World Health Organization, as well as the WTO. The current president is Louise Cox from Australia. Visit UIA website at


Architects Regional Council Asia (ARCASIA)

ARCASIA or ARCHITECTS REGIONAL COUNCIL OF ASIA is an organization of seventeen National Institutes of Architects from the Asian region extending from Pakistan in the West to Philippines in the East, Peoples Republic of China in the North to Indonesia in the South. The objectives of ARCASIA are: (1) To unite National Institutes of Architects on a democratic basis throughout the Asian region, to foster friendly, Intellectual, artistic, educational and scientific ties; (2) To foster and maintain professional contacts, mutual cooperation and assistance among Member Institutes; (3) To represent architects of the Member Institutes at national and international levels; (4) To promote the recognition of the architects role in society; (5) To promote the development and education of architects and architectural professional in their service to society and; (6) To promote research and technical advancement in the field of the built environment. The Council of the ARCASIA consists of all the Presidents of the National Institutes. The organization itself serves as an extension for each Member Institute's regional program and relations. Annual Meetings are held in different Member Institute countries to deliberate and to give collective directions and representation to matters that affect the architectural profession in the Asian region. Visit Arcasia website at

Member Institutes are as follows: Institute of Architects BANGLADESH; Architectural Society of CHINA; HONG KONG Institute of Architects; ; The INDIAN Institute of Architects; Ikatan Arsitek INDONESIA; JAPAN Institute of Architects; KOREAN Institute of Registered Architects; MACAU Architects Association; Pertubuhan Akitek MALAYSIA; The Union of MONGOLIAN Architects; Society of NEPALESE Architects; Institute of Architects PAKISTAN; United Architects of the PHILIPPINES; SINGAPORE Institute of Architects; SRI LANKA Institute of Architects; Association of SIAMESE Architects and VIETNAM Architects Association


Eastern Regional Organization of Planning and Housing (EAROPH)

The Eastern Regional Organisation for Planning and Housing (EAROPH) is a non-governmental multi-sectorial organisation encompassing the private, public and academic sectors. The organization was established to foster the exchange of insights and experiences among countries in the EAROPH region, which has been acknowledged as the most dynamic in the world in terms of economic growth, magnitude of urbanization, population size and ethnic diversity. The EAROPH region covers all countries in Asia, Australasia and the Pacific region. EAROPH promotes a better understanding of Human Settlements and encourages excellence in planning, development and management to improve the quality of life and sustainability of human settlements. Visit Earoph Website at


APEC Architect Central Council

Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is an international forum composed of twenty-one member economies within the Asia-Pacific region. Its purpose is "to sustain the growth and development of the region for the common good of its peoples" by encouraging trade. APEC builds on WTO General Agreement on Trade and Services (GATS) principles for the progressive liberalisation of trade in services through the reduction of regulatory restrictions, leading to reciprocal agreements between member economies where appropriate. You can access more information about APEC here.

At its inception, the APEC Architect Project was an initiative of the APEC Human Resources Development Working Group (HRDWG), one of a number of sectoral groups established to implement APEC programs. The project was endorsed by the HRDWG at its year 2000 meeting in Brunei as a contribution to the Group's strategic priority of facilitating mobility of qualified persons by the mutual recognition of skills and qualifications.


Local Institutions


Professional Regulation Commission (PRC)

The Professional Regulation Commission (Filipino: Komisyon sa Pamamalakad ng mga Propesyonal), otherwise known as the PRC, is a three-man commission attached to the office of the President of the Republic of the Philippines. Its mandate is to regulate and supervise the practice of the professionals who constitute the highly skilled manpower of the country. As the agency-in-charge of the professional sector, the PRC plays a strategic role in developing the corps of professionals for industry, commerce, governance, and the economy.


Professional Regulatory Board of Architecture (PRBoA)

The PRBoA as an entity is under the administrative control and supervision of the PRC, a quasi-judicial and quasi-legislative entity that forms part of the executive branch of the Philippine Government. As such, it does not act independently on matters involving the regulation of the practice of the profession of architecture in the Philippines. The reconstituted PRBoA is a collegial body and is active in the areas of executive action relating to the implementation and enforcement of Republic Act No. 9266 (otherwise known as the Philippine "Architecture Act of 2004"), its implementing rules and regulations (IRR) and derivative regulations e.g. other executive issuances of the PRBoA through the PRC.