National Committee on Monuments and Sites elects new officers

February 27, 2018 | By: NCCA

The National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) - National Committee on Monuments and Sites (NCMS) elected new officers  to fill-in vacancies in the Executive Council. The new Head is Arch. Reynaldo S. Lita of the National Historical Commission of the Philippines, taking over from Asst. Prof. Ivan Anthony S. Henares who resigned late last year to pursue his PhD at Purdue University.

Elected Vice Head to replace Architect Lita was Arch. Jayson B. Portem of the United Architects of the Philippines. Architect Portem is the current Chairman of the UAP Specialty Council of Architectural Heritage Conservation.

Dr. Richard G. Daenos stays on as Secretary. While Tina P. Paterno, who represents the Heritage Conservation Society, was elected Assistant Secretary, replacing Angel P. Bautista of the National Museum, who also resigned last year.

Paterno, ICOMOS President, replaced Henares as HCS representative. Engr. Jainab Altillero, head of the National Museum Conservation Laboratory, took over as NM representative. While Bishop Julito B. Cortes will replace Bishop Pablo Virgilio S. David as CBCP representative. David was elected CBCP Vice President last year.

The National Committee on Monuments and Sites

The NCMS, under the Subcommission on Cultural Heritage(SCH), is one of the 19 national committees under the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), the cultural arm of the government. It is composed of volunteer architects, archaeologists, town planners, engineers, heritage administrators, art historians, archivists, heritage owners, lawyers, historical researcher, and other experts in the different conservation fields

Its mandate is to assist the NCCA in conserving the rich Filipino built heritage and its environments. Its main task is to formulate strategies, policies, plans, programs, projects, and networking for the protection of historic structures, complexes, and landscapes throughout the Philippines.


Photo Credits