The History of the Presidential Chain of Office

June 30, 2018 | By: Arch. Prosperidad C. Luis, FUAP, Likha

In medieval times, the official seal of community, in the form of a medal, was worn at the neck by the Chief Magistrate, suspended from a sturdy chain to identify leadership in the community. In many parts of Europe, most particularly in the United Kingdom, no less than kings, queens, and other government and civic dignitaries wore a heavy gilt chain around their necks to symbolize authority.

In present times, many have adopted the wearing of the Chain of Office. Almost all distinguished organizations and great religions follow certain rituals associated with the “Presidential Chain of Office”.

The Chain of Office is recognized by all as a symbol of dignity, authority and responsibility inherent in the principal elective office. The bearer has the sworn duty to protect this instrument of civic legality at all costs.

In the past, the leadership of the UAP had been transferred from an Outgoing National President to an Incoming National President through the transfer of a gavel that symbolized the  transfer of leadership.

In this photo that made the front page of the Manila Bulletin on July 8, 2000, the Outgoing National President Yolanda Reyes hands over the symbolic gavel of leadership to Incoming National President Prosperidad Luis on July 7, 2000 during the Recognition Night and Induction of the National Board of Directors for 2000-2001, in the presence of Guest of Honor and Speaker Manny Villar, PRC Commissioner Hermogenes Pobre and UAP Outgoing Secretary General Edric Marco Florentino.

Today,  the UAP installs the Presidential Chain of Office to give honor and respect to the highest position in the organization. UAP also installs the Past President’s Medal to recognize the services of the  outgoing UAP National President at the helm of the organization.


The Installation of the Presidential Chain of Office occurred on June 30, 2001 at Westin Philippine Plaza (now Sofitel Hotel). It was also on this date that two other events occurred: 1) the Induction of the National Board of Directors 2001-2002, headed by National President Ar. Prosperidad Luis who would be serving her second term of office and 2) the Recognition Night during which Ar. Luis recognized officers, members and chapters for their exemplary service and performance, and friends in the industry for their support.

The event was attended by more than 150 which included national, district and chapter officers and members and friends of UAP in the industry.

The Presidential Chain and its Design

The Presidential Chain was designed by Architect Edric Marco Florentino in year 2001.

  • The upper part of the Chain of Office is an ionic-capital that represents Architecture.
  • The shaft of the drain contains the logos of the three organizations that were unified to form UAP in 1975, the logos linked to one another by a UAP medal.
  • The bases of the chain converge unto the UAP Logo, to signify the merging of the three organizations.
  • The smaller rays surrounding the medal symbolize the many achievements and glorious moments of the organization, UAP.
  • The 3 sun rays, representing the 3 organizations, meet at the center of the medal containing the UAP logo to emphasize their unification.
  • The 3 pointed sun rays, a design similar to that of the Philippine Flag, represent the country’s main island groups: Luzon, Visayas & Mindanao.

The Presidential Chain of Office will be conferred on the incoming National President of the United Architects of the Philippines in fitting rites during the Turnover Ceremonies.  The Transfer of the Presidential Chain of Office symbolizes that the presidential power is being relinquished orderly, peacefully with dignity and without reservation.

The President’s Medal

A Past President’s Medal is being conferred on the outgoing National President, to symbolize that the organization recognizes his invaluable service as a  National President.

The awarding of the President’s Medal was instituted by then Past National President Arch. Prosperidad C. Luis to all Past National Presidents.







  • Norberto M. Nuke, Charter President (1975)
  • Jose V. Herrera (1976)
  • Ruperto C. Gaite (1977-1978)
  • Felipe M. Mendoza (1979-1980)
  • Otilio A. Arellano (1981)
  • Leandro V. Locsin (1981-1982)
  • Manuel T. Manosa (1983-1984)
  • Cesar V. Canchela (1985-1986)
  • Froilan L. Hong (1987-1988)
  • Angel R. Lazaro, Jr. (1989)
  • Richeto C. Alcordo (1990-1991)
  • Jaime C. Marquez (1992-1993; 1993-1994)
  • Nestor S. Mangio (FY 1994-1995; 1995-1996)
  • Emmanuel P. Cuntapay (FY 1996-1997; 1997-1998)
  • Yolanda D. Reyes (FY 1998-1999; 1999-2000)






After the awarding, each Past National President gave their respective speeches.

Installation of the Presidential Chain of Office

After the bestowal of the President’s Medal to each Past National President, the Presidential Chain of Office was installed to Arch. Prosperidad C. Luis, by the Charter President of the UAP, Arch. Norberto M. Nuke.

The said event was featured at the Manila Bulletin.

The Installation of the Presidential Chain of Office and the  Conferment of President’s Medal were instituted from thereon .