UAP Likha Gold Medal Awardee Bobby Manosa, 6 others named national artists

October 25, 2018 | By: Keeping You Posted, PNA, ABS-CBN News

Well-known for his iconic masterpieces which define Filipino architecture, UAP's pride, Arch. Francisco "Bobby" T. Mañosa, a Likha Gold Medal Awardee, was named as a new National Artist in the Field of Architecture and Allied Arts.

The Order of National Artists is the highest recognition given by the government to Filipinos who have made significant contributions to the development of Philippine arts. The Philippine president names them based on the recommendations of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts and the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP).

President Rodrigo Duterte on Wednesday conferred the ONA to Architect Manosa, Lauro "Larry" Alcala (Visual Arts), Ramon Muzones and Resil B. Mojares (Literature), Amelia Lapeña Bonifacio (Theater), Eric de Guia a.k.a. Kidlat Tahimik (Film and Broadcast Arts), and popular composer and musical director Ryan "Mr. C" Cayabyab (Music).

In his speech, Duterte called on the awardees to share their skills and knowledge to the younger generation amid the fast-paced, highly technological and modern world.

“I urge our awardees to never hesitate to pass down their knowledge and skills to the younger generation because it is only by educating and training the youth that the legacy and work of our artists can live on,” Duterte said.

“To this year’s awardees, I laud you for the passion and dedication to your chosen craft. Your outstanding work does not only inspire self-determination, but likewise instills patriotism and brings prestige to our beloved country,” he added.

Duterte also gave Gawad sa Manlilikha ng Bayan (GAMABA) awards to Ambalang Ausalin, Estelita Bantilan and Yabing Masalon-Dulo; and 2018 Philippine Heritage awards to winners in four categories.

These are Adaptive Reuse award won by Rizal Park Hotel; Heritage Education and Interpretation: local government unit (LGU) of San Nicolas, Ilocos Norte; Safeguarding Intangible Cultural Heritage Award (LGU of Magalang Pampanga); and, Heritage Program Support Awardee (LGU of Angeles City).

The GAMABA has been instituted as a national tribute to the creative and technical genius of the Filipino traditional artist.

On the other hand, the Philippine Heritage awards is an annual conservation recognition program which aims to promote cultural preservation and conservation of Filipino cultural heritage.

Duterte underscored the need to preserve and protect the country’s cultural sites.

“In ways more than one, art has been a witness to this storied history of our nation. It gave rise to the revolutions and served as a voice to those who fought for democracy and emboldened the spirit of the Filipino during the turbulent times,” the President said.

“Indeed, art has gone as a general service and we recognize this by supporting our local and traditional artist and spearheading initiatives to safeguard, preserve, and protect our cultural sites,” he added.

Duterte, together with Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea, also conferred the Presidential Medal of Merit on Filipina painter Araceli Limcaco Dans.

“As we celebrate Filipino excellence in all forms, may your creativity and artistry continue to inspire our people to become positive in building a more progressive and vibrant Philippines,” Duterte said. 

Arch. Bobby Manosa

Architect Manosa received numerous awards from his peers and various civic and religious organizations. Among them are the Papal Knighthood of Pontifical Order of St. Gregory the Great in 1979, “PatnubayngKalinangan” Architect of the Year Award from the Manila Commission on Culture & Arts in 1982; First Recipient of Golden Award in the field of Filipino Architecture from the United Architects of the Philippines in 1989; the “Kalakbay” Special Award for Architecture in 1994 for his outstanding contribution to Philippine Tourism; the Most Outstanding Professional of the Year Award from the Professional Regulations Commission in 1994; the Most Outstanding “Las Piñero” Award in the field of Architecture from the Perpetual Help College of Rizal in 1996; the Design Award of Excellence in Architecture from the United Architects of the Philippines in 1996, elevated to Honorary Fellowship in 1998 by the Philippine Institute of Architects, the 7th “Likha” Gold Medal Awardee from the United Architects of the Philippines in 2003; the “Gawad CCP Para sa Sining in the Field of Architecture” given by the Cultural Center of the Philippines in September 2004; One of the Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) Award in the field of Architecture given the Philippine Jaycee Senate & The Insular Life in December 2004; The Outstanding Thomasian Alumni(TOTAL) Awardee in Architecture for the year 2005 given by the University of Sto. Tomas;Excellence Awards in the Field of Architecture given by the Philippine Federation of Professional Association in September 2005; “Gawad Diwang Lahi Sa Patnubay ng Sining at Kalinangan” Award given by the City of Manila in June 2006; the Outstanding Artist for Golden Years of Service in the field of Architecture given by the National Commission on Culture & Arts in observance of the UNESCO World Theater Week 27 March 2009; the San Beda Hall of Fame Award from San Beda College Alumni Association in 2010, and Gawad Gintong Likha in November 2012 from the UAP, PIA and CCP.\

His distinct contribution to Philippine architectural and  design that is based on a steadfast belief and advocacy for a rich Filipino architectural style that is rooted on our nation’s culture, art and heritage, as exemplified by his iconic structures such as the Coconut Palace, Aquino Museum, Pearl Farm in Davao, Amanpulo Beach Resort, Palawan among others.

Photo Source: Malacanan Palace

Photo Credits